Julie Answers: Afraid to try therapy

Julie Borden
4 min readFeb 28, 2023
Photo by Jade Destiny on Unsplash

Myla’s question: I have bad childhood memories, can’t silence my thoughts, and can’t form healthy habits or relationships. I know I self-sabotage, but always tell myself, “I’ve made it this far and I’m still a decent person, so why would I need therapy?” But I still feel like I’m stuck and can’t escape, mentally and emotionally. I’ve always wanted to try therapy, but have kept making excuses and always end up deciding “not yet”.

Dear Myla,

First, congratulations on taking this step and reaching out to inquire about something that has clearly been on your mind for a long time.

You are certainly not alone… I would bet that most people who are currently in therapy and benefitting from it did not arrive at their decision to start easily or quickly. And that is understandable. Even on the surface, simply the idea of telling a total stranger private, sensitive information about your life is daunting. It is counter to the way we most commonly approach life, confiding in people only once we know them and have built trust over time.

Here are some other common concerns that keep people from seeking therapy:

Fear of judgement — In life there is vulnerability associated with revealing ourselves to others. “What will they think of me?” is a question that can haunt us in the social world. Rest…

--

--

Julie Borden

Social worker, therapist, reader, writer, head-in-the-clouds dreamer, awed by most everything. (She/her) Reach me at JulieBordenLCSW@gmail.com.