Julie Answers: I Can Never Relax!

The dilemma of the remote-working mom

Julie Borden
5 min readDec 30, 2023
Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

Crystal’s question: I’m 35, married, and have a one-year-old daughter. I have my doctorate and have done well in my field. I was on maternity leave for the first seven months after my daughter was born. I have now been back officially working full-time again for the past five months, and I am still having trouble adjusting.

I have a nanny for my working hours. My daughter likes her and is comfortable with her.

I know I’m lucky to have the arrangement I do, and don’t want to complain. However, I find that working from home makes it hard for me to concentrate on work. There are always thoughts running through my head about if my daughter or the nanny need anything. Even when I know that if I were not there in the house they would be fine!

The constant thoughts don’t stop even when I know my daughter is content and happy. Then I start thinking about what needs to be done at home, what to make for dinner, etc. I am just always in this mode of THINKING; my mind won’t stop spinning.

I wish I could calm my brain down. Before my daughter was born, I had a meditation practice and got a lot of peace from it. It got me through some tough times. But I cannot even imagine taking the time for that now.

--

--

Julie Borden

Social worker, therapist, reader, writer, head-in-the-clouds dreamer, awed by most everything. (She/her) Reach me at JulieBordenLCSW@gmail.com.